Nirvana ‘In Utero’ Tribute Album to Feature Thursday, Circa Survive, Daughters + More

'In Utero: In Tribute'
Robotic Empire

On Sept. 13, 1993, Nirvana released what would become their final studio album, ‘In Utero.’ The influence of ‘In Utero’ and the rest of Nirvana’s discography are still very present, and many celebrated rock and metal acts have teamed up to record ‘In Utero: In Tribute’ just in time for Record Store Day.

This Nirvana tribute album is different from the ones you may have heard before. Perhaps the most famous Nirvana tribute record to date is the 2004 release ‘World’s Greatest Tribute to Nirvana,’ which features iconic acts such as Dee Dee RamoneVenom and Iggy & the Stooges. ‘In Utero: In Tribute,’ however, mirrors the track listing of the original Nirvana masterpiece exactly, with 12 bands covering the album’s 12 songs.

The tribute record features a version of ‘Rape Me’ performed by Thursday, a cover of ‘Scentless Apprentice’ by Circa Survive,’ a recording of ‘Radio Friendly Unit Shifter’ played by Daughters + others.

Robotic Empire will unleash the tribute album both digitally and on vinyl beginning Record Store Day, which falls on April 19 this year.

“It has been a privilege to introduce so many unique bands to likeminded freaks over the past 15 years,” says Robotic Empire head Andy Low. “Looking back at what’s transpired almost seems unreal, and even with a shameful carbon footprint of many thousand plastic circles – I can safely say that it has been an honor to work with the artists we have, and a hearty thank you is due to all who’ve listened thus far. I genuinely hope you’ll enjoy this tribute to one of the bands who first showed me the strange side of music. Nirvana was truly one of the greats, and we’ve done our best to craft an appropriate homage to so many people’s all-time favorite band.”

See the track listing for ‘In Utero: In Tribute’ below. To pre-order a digital copy of the album, click here.

‘In Utero: In Tribute’ Track Listing:

01 – Pygmy Lush – “Serve The Servants“
02 – Circa Survive – “Scentless Apprentice“
03 – These Arms Are Snakes – “Heart-Shaped Box“
04 – Thursday – “Rape Me“
05 – Jay Reatard – “Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge on Seattle“
06 – Young Widows – “Dumb“
07 – Mean Jeans – “Very Ape“
08 – Thou – “Milk It“
09 – Whirr – “Pennyroyal Tea“
10 – Daughters – “Radio Friendly Unit Shifter“
11 – Ceremony – “Tourette’s“
12 – Black Math Horseman – “All Apologies“


Two Bit Sister – Aspiring Alt Duo Release Explosive Debut Album


Compressing a wide assortment of influences stemming from the energy and buoyancy of Weezer and Nirvana, through to the texturing of Jack White and Queens Of The Stoneage, Two-Bit Sister are certainly a fresh and animated take on alternative rock. With a tight and solid rhythm section, driving guitars, and soaring vocals, Two-Bit Sister set loose their own brand of infectious rock-pop nationwide this Spring.

Hailing from Margate, Kent, Leon Peskett (Guitar and lead vocals) and Connor Bluemel (Drums and backing vocals) formed ‘Two-Bit Sister’ in 2013 after dissolving their previous bands. Knowing each other from their school days and having jammed together for the past few years, the pair soon clicked and amassed a strong string of songs. The alt-rockers then began to play a flurry of shows throughout the summer of 2013, ahead of recording their debut EP.

Soon after, the industrious duo cut ‘The Jackal’, which proves to be an inspiring debut that potently flaunts the band’s live sound and vigour. The EP’s namesake starts proceedings, and it’s a highly infectious affair complete with a stunning up-tempo hook. From the get-go, it’s clear that the two-some have a natural knack for addictive melody. Next up, ‘Turbulence’ shifts gears, nodding towards the angular rock of ‘QOSTA’ and ‘Nirvana’, while ‘Wanna Know’ is a brilliant slab of pure contagious pop-rock. ‘Times’ rounds up the record with engaging dynamics and a driven refrain that will cement itself in your head for days. Look out for the duo as they prepare to hit venues throughout the UK in support of their EP.