Exclusive Interviews With Anette Olzon, Magnum, John Coughlan (Status Quo) And W.E.T.

Rich Davenport’s Rock Show this week features exclusive interviews with former Nightwish vocalist Anette Olzon, Bob Catley (Magnum), John Coughlan (Status Quo) and Erik Martensson (W.E.T.), and is available now for streaming at this link:www.mixcloud.com/richdav1/rich-davenports-rock-show-anette-olzon-ex-nightwish-magnum-status-quo-wet-interviews/
In the first hour, John Coughlan of the legendary “Frantic Four” line up of Status Quo, talks about the band’s current tour, and the new deluxe edition reissue of their seminal “Piledriver” album, with classic songs and rare live tracks from the new package. Also in part 1, former Nightwish vocalist Anette Olzon discusses the writing and recording of her debut solo release “Shine”, and chooses two songs from the album.
In part two, Bob Catley of enduring British Hard Rockers Magnum talks about their chart-busting new album “Escape From The Shadow Garden”, and related touring plans and festival appearances, with four songs from the new album. And finally, Erik Martensson (Eclipse), guitarist with Melodic Rock supergroup W.E.T. (also featuring vocalist Jeff Scott Soto (ex Journey, Talisman, Yngwie Malmsteen) talks about the band’s new 2CD/DVD live package “One Live-In Stockholm” and chooses two cuts from the album, including one of the 2 unreleased studio songs included.
You can also listen on Sunday 30th March 15:00-17:00 GMT and Wednesday 2nd April 22:00-00.00 GMT on www.totalrock.com.


Anette Olzon Ready To Shine

It is with great pleasure that earMUSIC welcomes another great woman of rock, joining the group of exciting female voices releasing their work through the Hamburg-based rock label (among others: Tarja, Skunk Anansie, and Chrissie Hynde). The woman in question isAnette Olzon. Anette Olzon – as every metal fan knows – has been the front woman of Finnish symphonic-metal superstars Nightwish for five years before having to leave the band in late 2012.
Although the circumstances belong to the past and Anette is the kind of artist and person who only looks forward, it is a sure fact that those five years have established Anette as one of the highlight of the rock music map on a global scale. “Does it sound like Nightwish?” It’s the question that everybody would probably like to ask… It doesn’t but it definitely does, would be the most accurate answer. Certainly more precise than denying it does or confirming Anette’s new songs sound like her previous band.
“Shine” has been produced with the collaboration of some of the most successful teams in rock and pop in Scandinavia: the producer Stefan Цrn (songwriter and producer of the 2011 Eurovision Song Contest winning track ‘Running Scared’), Johan Glцssner and co-produced by Anette Olzon and Johan Kronlund. The album was mixed by Kronlund, Nicklas Flykt and Ronny Lahti (known for his work with Loreen and Roxette). The new album will be released on March 31st 2014 by earMUSIC

“I am so thrilled to finally release my first solo album,” says Anette Olzon. “I’ve been working on it for a long time by now… The album is very personal with songs I have started writing already in 2009 but also very recent songs. The overall message of the album is that life can be really dark and filled with hardship and sadness, but you can always choose to see some light coming through, to make you stronger and full of life – making you SHINE… no matter what.”
And what about the musical direction? “In the end, it is a rock album,” says Anette. “Well, a pop rock album maybe, or would you call it pop metal?” We have heard this one before, haven’t we? Whether we can define “Shine” a metal album, rock, pop or “pop rock” what would be hard to miss is how strong the songs are and what an extraordinary album it is. It exceptionally masters the borders between melancholy and hope, between fragility and power, because it showcases an artist who doesn’t rest on her laurels but heads boldly into the future. Because it shines.
Album Tracklisting: 1. Like A Show 2. Shine 3. Floating 4. Lies 5. Invincible 6. Hear Me 7. Falling 8. Moving Away 9. One Million Faces 10. Watching Me From Afar.